• Cheap Auto Insurance in California – Get FREE Quotes Now!

    California Auto Insurance – Know the Necessary Facts

    Having a driver’s license isn’t enough to drive legally on California highways. You must be able to show at all times that you have at least the minimum insurance coverage for your auto as shown in the tables below. You can compare rates and save significant money on this coverage by clicking on the quote box at www.californiaautoinsuranceca.com.

    The California Auto Insurance Laws and Requirements You Must Follow

    Every driver in a household must be covered by the specified minimum liability insurance. Proof of this insurance must be carried in the vehicle at all times. The alternative to carrying this minimum of insurance is to deposit a cash bond of not less than $35,000 with the California Department of Motor Vehicles. A surety bond of the same amount issued by an insurance company licensed in California is an additional alternative to the actual liability insurance.

    The California car insurance amounts that must be carried are:

    • Bodily Injury (One person): $15,000
    • Bodily Injury (All injuries per accident): $30,000
    • Property Damage: $5,000

    Drivers in California are not required to carry insurance to protect from uninsured or under insured drivers.(UM/UIM coverage) While the state does not require this coverage, they strongly recommend purchasing a minimum of $50,000 protection from such drivers.

    There is no requirement for no-fault coverage in California. As a tort state, the driver found at fault will be required to pay the medical expenses of the injured party. Additional claims for lost wages, and pain and suffering can be made against the driver at fault. This potential liability should be considered in the coverage select. And, in addition to the mandatory requirements below, many insurance providers suggest the following:

    Coverage

    Requirements

    Recommended

    Bodily Injury Liability

    Required

    $100,000/$300,000

    Property Damage Liability

    Required

    $100,000

    Uninsured Motorist Bodily Injury

    No Requirement

    $100,000/$300,000

    Personal Injury Protection

    No Requirement

    $2,500

    Medical Payments

    No Requirement

    $5,000

    Collision

    No Requirement

    $500 deductible

    Comprehensive

    No Requirement

    $250 deductible

    California has many miles of interstate and rural roads. Commuting is a way of life and safe speed limits are used to keep traffic moving. These roads are governed by speed limits determined by safety engineers and the legislature to be maximum safe speeds.

    Speed Limits

    Rural Interstate

    70 mph

    55 mph trucks

    Urban Interstate

    65 mph

    55 mph trucks

    Other Limited-Access

    70 mph

    55 mph trucks

    Other Roads

    65 mph

    55 mph trucks

    You Can Find Additional Information about California Auto Insurance

    Authorities in California view adherence to all vehicle laws as a serious matter. It is important to understand all laws and regulations that might affect your specific situation when driving in California. For information pertaining to driver’s licenses, ID cards and registering your vehicle visit:

    California Department of Motor Vehicles – www.dmv.ca.gov

    California Department of Insurance – www.insurance.ca.gov

    The official California state website – www.ca.gov

    Getting the Best California Auto Insurance Discounts

    Insurance quotes are based on average drivers and information. Every insurance company has ways a smart driver can save money on their insurance. After you get a basic quote, always check to determine what discounts apply to your situation. One of the common ways to save is to combine your homeowner’s and automobile coverage at one company. The make and model of your car can have an impact on your rates. Of course, your driving record will be a factor in most cases. Avoid accidents and speeding tickets to get the best possible rates.

    Don’t take the risk of driving without insurance. Getting a ticket is bad enough, having to pay for an accident out of your own pocket is much worse. Control your risk and the cost of your insurance by using the quick and easy quote service at www.californiaautoinsuranceca.com

    For more money-saving tips, check out our reports on the following California cities:

    Just a few moments of time could save some big bucks. Check us out today.

    Nee more info? Contact your department of insurance.

    California Department of Insurance
    Consumer Services Division
    300 South Spring Street, South Tower
    Los Angeles, CA 90013

     

    Learn more about CA State
    National Association of Insurance Commissioners